Board Members

Chief Seymour and Mayor Lefebure are Co-Chairs of the Cowichan Watershed Board.

Jon LefebureMayor Jon Lefebure - North Cowichan

Jon holds a Bachelors Degree in Political Science from Carleton University, and together with his wife Marlene, operates a successful design and build construction business. Jon and his family have lived in Chemainus for more than 20 years.

Jon was elected as a councillor for one term before becoming Mayor of North Cowichan and is now in his fourth term as Mayor. Jon currently sits as Chair on the Regional District Board.

Jon views the Cowichan Watershed Board and its accomplishments as being particularly important.  He is proud to Co-Chair it with Chief Seymour as a truly collaborative, leading edge partnership between Cowichan Tribes and the CVRD that benefits residents of the CVRD and beyond.

Calvin Swustus ("Swutth'tus")Chief William Seymour - Cowichan Tribes

Chief William (Chip) Seymour (Squtxulenuhw) served as a Cowichan Tribes Councillor from 2005 to 2013. In 2013 he was elected Chief. He grew up exploring the Cowichan watershed, the river and its tributaries. As Chief his primary focuses are education, employment, training, culture, housing and working to re-establish a sense of hope among young people. In his role of Co-chair of the Cowichan Watershed Board he intends to reinforce the importance of whole of watershed thinking and collaborative approaches to achieving the Watershed Board’s targets. He is particularly concerned about the impacts of forest practices on water quality, fisheries and other resources. Chief Seymour has coached sports for over thirty years initially coaching lacrosse and then soccer.

Ian MorrisonIan Morrison - Director CVRD Area F, Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls

Ian was first elected as an Area Director in 2008.

Debra ToporowskiDebra Toporowski – Councillor, Cowichan Tribes

As a Councillor with Cowichan Tribes, Debra Toporowski (Qwulti-stunaat) sits on a number of committees - Fishing, Housing, Health, Watershed - which are concerned with the same issues as the Cowichan Watershed Board.

Lori IannidinardoLori Iannidinardo – Director CVRD Area D, Cowichan Bay

Lori Iannidinardo was elected an Area Director in November 2008. She has lived in the Cowichan Bay area for over 40 years. Lori has been an active volunteere for the betterment of local schools, parks and recreation local planning and the Cowichan Bay area. She has been particularly active in the local food movement. In her first year as director, she helped lead Cowichan Bay to become the first community in Canada to gain International Cittaslow status.

Darin GeorgeDarin George – Councillor, Cowichan Tribes

As a Councillor of Cowichan Tribes and a member on ten Tribes' committees, Darin George (Swutumut/Smutyeen) is committed and dedicated to positive growth and progress for Cowichan. Darin works hard to contribute to a healthier and transparent government, and for sustainable and realistic goals for the community's future. The committees Darin participates on include Environment Resource, Fishing, Quw'utsun Kw'atl'kwa Fisheries Board, Cowichan Tribes Treaty, CTTC-CRA Technical Team, Cowichan Tribes Shared Territory Working Group.

Darin's interests include fishing on the Cowichan River, hiking around the Cowichan Valley, swimming with his son, talking to people with the same interests and also listening to a variety of music.

Klaus KuhnKlaus Kuhn - Director CVRD Area I, Youbou/Meade Creek


Tim KulchyskiTim Kulchyski - Natural Resource Consultant

Tim has worked with a variety of clients assessing upland, freshwater and marine ecosystems for 15 years. His work often involves examining the impacts of development on cultural values. Recently he participated in a program to control invasive plants in the watershed. Tim has travelled extensively studying the interaction between resource issues and cultural heritage. Over the past five years he was involved in a major Hul'qumi'num language revitalization initiative.

Ross ForrestMayor Ross Forrest – Lake Cowichan

Ross Forrest was elected as the Mayor of Lake Cowichan in November 2008. Ross was born and raised in that community. He spent much of his working life in logging camps often as the Camp Chair of Safety Chair. He currently works for the Municipality of North Cowichan’s Parks and Recreation Department. Ross continues to be active in and supportive of recreation and sports as well as other initiatives that contribute to a strong community.

David SladeDavid Slade - Past President, BC Groundwater Association

Since 1982, David has been a partner in the Duncan based, family business, Drillwell Enterprises Ltd. Drillwell provides well and environmental drilling services to a variety of clients. David is passionate about groundwater and its relationship to the rest of the environment. He has been very active with both the Canadian and BC Groundwater Associations recently serving as President of the BC Association. David is an active community volunteer and supporter contributing resources and spare time to volunteer firefighting and youth sports in particular

DavidAndersonThe Honourable David Anderson – Retired Member of Parliament

David Anderson’s experiences include an Olympic silver medal (rowing), foreign service, environmental consultant, professor, Member of the BC Legislature, and Member of Parliament. David was elected as an MP six times and held four Cabinet portfolios including Transport, Fisheries and Oceans and Revenue. In addition he was Canada’s longest standing Environment Minister. A fisherman, David is an active outdoors enthusiast and has a special fondness for the Cowichan region. In the 1990s, he was instrumental in the Cowichan River being designated as a Canadian Heritage River. David has received numerous awards and two honorary degrees for his support for the environment.

Dr. Laura BrownDr. Laura Brown, Area Director - South Coast BC, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Dr. Laura Brown worked for DFO at the Pacific Biological Station in 1986 as a microbiology technician with a BSc from McGill University.  She went back to school after that and completed an MSc at Simon Fraser University, and a PhD from the University of British Columbia. After conducting post-doctoral research on aquatic animal health at Stanford University, Laura took a position as Research Scientist with the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) in Halifax NS.  She worked as a Researcher and then as Science Manager with the NRC for twelve years, including assignments as Strategic Advisor to the NRC Vice-President and Director of the National Bioinformatics Program.  Laura left the NRC in early 2008 to join the University of Guelph as the Executive Director of the Biodiversity Institute.  When she was offered the position of Division Manager, Science Branch in Nanaimo in late 2008, Laura returned to British Columbia and to the DFO.  In September 2016 Dr. Brown accepted the position of Area Director, South Coast, DFO.

Dr. David Froese

Dave Froese has been a family doctor in the Cowichan Valley for over 30 years. Before entering Medicine at UBC he worked as a fisheries biologist. He has worked for the D.F.O., M.O.E., West Water Research and The Environmental Land Use Committee.

He lived with his family at Green’s Pool on the upper Cowichan for 5 years. They used the river as a water source for drinking in the winter.

Dave has served as Medical Chief of Staff for Cowichan District Hospital, president of the Cowichan Valley Medical Society, president of the Medical Undergraduate Society of BC, and Chief Intern of Victoria General Hospital.

Dave now works in Lake Cowichan as a family doctor and is on and in the water as much as possible. He continues to have a passionate interest in the health of the Cowichan River and all of its surrounding environs.